For the love of sharing books

“No writer can ask more than this: that his book should be handed in thousands to people who might otherwise never get to read it, and who will in turn hand it to thousands more. That his book should also pass from one generation to another as a story to challenge and excite each reader in his time – that is beyond his most ambitious dreams.” John le Carré

As a child I was always more interested in drawing than reading. The only books I read were Roald Dahl, and this was purely because of his whipple scrumptious snozcumbertastic made-up words and electrifyingly rotten characters.

I was 20, studying hard and partying harder at Uni and I needed to de-stress. My Dad suggested I try reading a novel. I did. I discovered that reading is a pleasure not a chore. It’s true, some reading can be dull. But a good book is a time traveller, a transporter to new worlds and new friends, an escape, and strangely, as it’s a solitary experience, an activity that brings people together and inspires passionate discussion.

Bee’s Bookshare has been running since April 2012. I moved to Margate 3 years ago and wanted to join a book club. But not a stuffy, dry, painful literary competition between readers (not all book clubs are like this, but the ones I tried were and made my heart, and bookmark, sink), but a relaxed, welcoming, social evening where people talk about books they’ve read, the ones they loved, the ones they hated, and discover new reads to devour. But there was nothing going on that I could find. So I set one up. The wonderful Fort’s Cafe on Margate seafront agreed to host (always good to have food and wine on hand for book natter).

And now we’re celebrating our first anniversary.

Bee’s Bookshare takes place on the third Thursday of every month at 7.30pm in Margate and once a month on a Wednesday at 81 Beach Street in Deal, Kent.

Fort’s Cafe, 8 Cliff Terrace, Cliftonville, Margate, Kent, CT9 1RU
81 Beach Street, Deal, Kent, CT14 6JB

To find out more follow @beesbookshare #beesbookshare.
Or email bee.bishop@yahoo.com to sign up to the mailing list.

Leave a Reply

